Milborne 10 - 8th January 2012

Bournemouth Athletic Club returned to winning ways at the Milborne 10 on Sunday 8 January, but Poole Runners and Poole Athletic Club are demonstrating that they are challenging this year's Road Race League, with BAC scoring 27 points, Poole Runners 56 and Poole AC 77 in the race. With Ian Habgood recovering from a cold, and Simon Munro sidelined for the moment with a knee injury, it was with some relief that Simon Way and Graeme Miller were seen on the start line, anticipated to be, as they were, BAC's 4th and 5th scorers. Steve Way was a comfortable winner of the race, missing the course record by as little as 18 seconds, with Jacek Cieluszucki strengthening BAC's position by finishing second. Another solid run from Jon Sharkey saw him in fourth place, followed in eighth by Simon Way, who won the award for first MV40, and completed the winning team for the race itself, and in twelfth position Graeme Miller was our final scorer for the League team. Steph Slade was our only lady competitor, in 38th position, and winning the award for third lady. Steph will be running in the next few League races, no doubt repeating her excellent performances, and hopefully our ladies will be able to support her, to retain the Ladies' Team position at the top of League Division 2. There was a record entry, with 340 finishers, and although the organisation creaked a little in places due to the unexpectedly large numbers (there were over 200 entries on the day), this was a very enjoyable race over a scenic, if demanding, course, generally very well organised, with the added bonus of raising funds for local charities. The Milborne 10 is just short of 10 miles, at 9.79 miles, and of course therefore doesn't count towards the Club 10 mile Championship.

Results (BAC):
1. Steve Way 52.24; 2. Jacek Cieluszucki 54.13; 4. Jon Sharkey 55.30; 8. Simon Way 59.58; 12. Graeme Miller 61.04; 32. Paul Consani 65.11; 38. Steph Slade 65.55; 52. Ian Graham 67.26; 127. Andy Gillespie 74.31; 142. Dave Parsons 75.21.