Portland 10 - 7 July 2013

Another League win for the BAC Men at the Portland 10 mile race on Sunday 7 July means that the Dorset Road Race League Division 1 (Men) is won for 2013, but hopefully we will continue with good performances for the remaining races. The BAC Mens' team are to be congratulated on winning every one of the first seven League races this year - a considerable achievement even taking into account the fact that the competition hasn't been as strong as in previous years. Ian Habgood was the outright winner of the race, with Club Captain Simon Munro following him in second place. Both Ian's and Simon's run were even more impressive considering that the previous day they were competing in the BAL match at Kings Park. Robin Copestick and Graeme Miller, both finishing well within the top ten, completed the winning Open Team race, with (some time later!) Ian Graham completing the League team. For the Ladies, Caroline Rowley and Helen Ambrosen competed, and, although this meant that the BAC Ladies' Team was incomplete, the decision of Janie Chapman, who struggles with the heat, not to run, despite having entered, was absolutely the most sensible, bearing in mind that this was the hottest day of the year, and that the race offers no shade whatsoever.

Results (BAC):
1. Ian Habgood 58.25; 2. Simon Munro 59.32; 5. Robin Copestick 1.00.37; 7. Graeme Miller 1.02.58; 44. Ian Graham 1.14.45; 60. Andy Gillespie 1.18.31; 72. Caroline Rowley 1.20.38; 127 Helen Ambrosen 1.31.13. There were 210 finishers.