Mad March 10 & 20 - 10th March 2013

The Mad March races, organised by Zoom Tri Club, are made up of a one-loop 10 mile race and a two-loop 20 mile race, the latter forming part of the Dorset Road Race League. Held on Sunday 10 March, conditions for the races were cold, with a significant wind, but, although some commented that it was a pity conditions weren't as favourable as the day before, warm and sunny, nobody regretted that they were not as the next day, Monday 11 March, when the snow fell and the wind was almost a blizzard!

BAC Senior Mens' team continued their run of League wins, with Steve Way, whose marathon training seems very much on course, an emphatic winner, almost nine minutes ahead of second-placed Ian Habgood, whose performance can only be regarded as impressive after his injury problems. Jacek Cieluszecki was not in the best race shape on the day, suffering, as he was, from a sore throat, but, nevertheless, Jacek completed the course in just under two hours, and it may be that the company of Peter Thompson helped, with Peter finishing just ahead (one second!) of Jacek. The BAC League team was completed by Graeme Miller, whose paced run in preparation for his marathon went exactly according to plan.

Unfortunately, we weren't able to field a full Ladies' team in the race, but Caroline Rowley and Helen Ambrosen ensured that the challenge in the League is maintained.

In the 10 mile race, Club Captain Simon Munro is to be congratulated on finishing third, and this the day after competing in the Inter Counties Cross Country in Birmingham the day before, as is Dave Parsons who, for the second year running, won the V60 prize. Also running in the 10 mile race was Antonio Ruiz, a visitor to Bournemouth from Spain, who has been training with us regularly, and also helping out at the Wednesday Development evenings at Kings Park, who was fifth in 1.02.40, and the winner of the V40 prize.

Results (BAC):

Mad March 20
1. Steve Way 1.47.09; 2. Ian Habgood 1.56.50; 4. Peter Thompson 1.59.10; 5. Jacek Cieluszecki 1.59.11; 10. Graeme Miller 2.08.39; 21. Jon Sharkey 2.11.48; 32. Manol Dimitrov; 40. Richard Nelson 2.21.44; 49. Paul Chapman 2.24.29; 65. Ian Graham 2.30.10; 70. Caroline Rowley 2.32.13; 88. Helen Ambrosen 2.38.31. There were 292 finishers.

Mad March 10
3. Simon Munro 57.48; 32. Dave Parsons 1.17.15. There were 108 finishers.