Purbeck 10K - 17th May 2013

Purbeck Runners, a comparatively new club, are to be congratulated on the organisation of the second Purbeck 10k under their stewardship, an event which also brought some good results for BAC. The outright winner of the the race, held in perfect conditions on the evening of Friday 17 May, was Ian Habgood, successfully defending his winner's title from 2012, and in convincing style, over a minute ahead of second placed Nathan Shrubb, himself no mean athlete. The race doubled as the Dorset County 10k Championship, so Ian also earned himself a County Gold Medal. In fifth place, and second BAC, was Club Captain Simon Munro, in a time only 30 seconds over his PB, on what can certainly be described as an undulating course. Karl Welch, next to finish after Simon, and Robin Copestick, some 14 seconds later, completed the winning team in the Open race, and Graeme Miller, 16th in the race, completed the Road Race League team, which narrowly fought off the challenge of Poole Runners, to win the League for the 5th time in 2013. However, with seven races still to go, there is no room for complacency! Only 4 seconds after Graeme was Manol Dimitrov, clearly recovered from his PB in the Greater Manchester Marathon, particularly considering Manol had taken his bike on the train to Wareham, and cycled from there to Norden before the race, with the prospect of cycling back to Wareham afterwards! Caroline Rowley was BAC's only Lady representative, but, after 5 League races, BAC Ladies are still top of Division 2 of the League, so there is still time to ensure promotion to Division 1. We welcomed Jez Bragg back to local competition in this race, after his amazing exploits in New Zealand, and perhaps there should be some explanation of the fact that, probably uniquely, BAC's last runner home was Jud Kirk! We all know that Jud is capable of much faster racing, but, still recovering from injury, it was only sensible to take things easy. Also competing in the Purbeck 10k were two visitors to Bournemouth from Spain, who are clearly benefitting from BAC training, as Antonio Ruiz completed the race in 24th position in 37.21, and Carlos Rael was 26th in 37.33.

Results (BAC):

1. Ian Habgood 33.08; 5. Simon Munro 34.27; 6. Karl Welch 34.58; 8. Robin Copestick 35.12; 16. Graeme Miller 36.41; 17. Manol Dimitrov 36.45; 34. Jez Bragg 38.21; 98. Ian Graham 42.52; 105. Steve Cox 43.26; 121. Caroline Rowley 44.10; 150. Andy Gillespie 45.22; 225. Jud Kirk 48.58. There were 438 finishers.